Visitmalta - The official tourism website for Malta, Gozo and Comino.

Travel by air or sea to Malta is possible during this global pandemic, but only from a list of approved countries. 

Corridor Countries (Green List)

Travellers coming to Malta from the ‘Green List' of safe countries will NOT be subjected to a swab test on arrival. There will only be thermal screening at the airport and persons arriving will be asked to fill a self-declaration form requesting information on their travels in the previous 30 days. If you are coming from a Green List country, you will need to confirm that you have not travelled to any other country outside of this green list.

At present, the following countries are on the 'Green List':

Australia, China (including, Hong Kong, Macau and Taiwan),Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Italy, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Rwanda, South Korea, Spain (Canarias), United Arab Emirates

Even if you are travelling from a safe country, ESN Malta suggests that you take the test upon arrival to Malta, and self-isolate for 5 days or until you receive your test results

Amber List

An amber list of corridor countries is published from week to week from which arriving passengers must produce a negative PCR COVID-19 swab test result, which test must have been taken no longer than 72 hours prior to arrival in Malta.  If a negative test is not presented, a swab test on arrival or a 14 day quarantine period may be required.

Amber countries from which travellers to Malta require proof of negative PCR COVID-19 swab test done within the previous 72 hours currently are:

  • Andorra
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Canada
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Estonia
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Indonesia
  • Ireland
  • Italy (all airports except Sicily and Sardinia)
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Latvia
  • Lebanon 
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Monaco
  • Morocco
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal (all airports except Madeira, Azores)
  • Romania
  • San Marino
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain (all airports except Canarias)
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Thailand
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • Uruguay
  • Vatican City


Red List

All countries not included on the Green List or Amber List are automatically included on the ‘Red List'. Passengers arriving from these countries must have spent at least the previous 14 days in one of the safe Green List countries before reaching Malta. It is also recommended that these passengers undertake a PCR test within 72 hours prior to arrival.

NOTE: Lists may be updated from time to time.

Information regarding travel to and from further destinations and testing and quarantine requirements on arrival will be included in future updates that may be accessed online at  

Additional Travel Documents

Besides normal travel documents like passport / visa etc, all persons travelling to Malta need to complete the Public Health Declaration Form and the Passenger Location Form

If you are arriving to Malta by air travel, these forms are to be given to aircraft crew or placed in the deposit boxes available on exit from the Terminal Temperature Screening Points following arrival at Malta International Airport.

If you are arriving to Malta by ferry from Sicily, you need to hand in these documents to the crew members at the check-in desk. 

It is a criminal offence to input false data when filling in the form. 

This information has been supplied by the Malta Tourism Authority

This advice is meant as a guideline only and should not be used in lieu of expert medical advice. Furthermore, the information contained herein is correct at the time of publishing and is subject to change and may change in the future.